

Suffolk County Council meeting Thursday 23 May 2024, vote taken on Motion 1.

Motion 1 – Proposed by Councillor Matthew Hicks and seconded by Councillor Nathan Wilson.

Motion Text: 'This Council notes the Local Government Association (LGA) have received cross-party support from organisations to sign the Debate Not Hate public statement, aiming to address the rise in abusive and intimidating behaviour directed at politicians.

This Council acknowledges the findings that 88% of the locally elected representatives who responded to the LGA's survey have faced abuse and intimidation. 73% said they have experienced it over social media, where it seems to be becoming increasingly normalised, and 64% said they have experienced it in person.

This Council understands this can have a significant impact on the health and wellbeing of our Members and their families and we should be taking steps to ensure elected representatives feel safe and secure in their own communities.

As we head into the General Election, and our own election in May 2025, this Council commits to challenge the normalisation of abuse against elected politicians and uphold exemplary standards of public and political debate in all it does. The Council further agrees to re-affirm our commitment to the LGA's Debate Not Hate campaign at today's Annual General Meeting.

Council therefore resolves to:

1. Take a zero-tolerance approach to abuse of councillors and officers and asks the Council's Monitoring Officer to establish where and how our processes can be strengthened to fully achieve this.

2. Challenge the normalisation of abuse against councillors and officers.

3. Uphold exemplary standards of public and political debate in all it does.

4. Commit to ensuring the Council has a clear reporting mechanism to allow monitoring and recording of incidents of harassment and abuse of councillors and officers.

5. Agrees to work with the local police to ensure there is a clear and joined-up mechanism for reporting threats and other concerns about the safety of councillors, officers and their families,

6. Commits to publicising its position, processes and sanctions internally and externally to further these aims.

7. Further agrees to re-affirm our commitment to the LGA's Debate Not Hate campaign which aims to raise public awareness of the role of councillors in local

communities, encourage healthy debate and improve the response to and support for those in public life facing abuse and intimidation.'

Total results	
For	60
Against	
Abstain	

Conservative Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Edward Back	For		
Peter Beer	For		
Bobby Bennett	For		
Stuart Bird	For		
Elaine Bryce			
Stephen Burroughes	For		
Nadia Cenci	For		
Jenny Ceresa	For		
Chris Chambers	For		
Judy Cloke			
Andy Drummond	For		
Robert Everitt	For		
Philip Faircloth-Mutton	For		
James Finch	For		
Jessica Fleming	For		
Mick Fraser	For		
David Goldsmith	For		
Peter Gould			
Georgia Hall	For		
Liz Harsant	For		
Ryan Harvey			
T-J Haworth-Culf			
Matthew Hicks	For		
Rachel Hood	For		
Beccy Hopfensperger	For		
Christopher Hudson	For		
Michael Ladd	For		
Stuart Lawson	For		
Joe Mason	For		
Debbie McCallum	For		
Patti Mulcahy			
Sam Murray	For		
David Nettleton			
Alexander Nicoll	For		
Colin Noble	For		
Kay Oakes			
James Reeder	For		
Andrew Reid	For		
Debbie Richards	For		

David Roach	For	
Keith Robinson	For	
Richard Rout	For	
Richard Smith MVO	For	
Karen Soons	For	
Heike Sowa	For	
Joanna Spicer	For	
Lance Stanbury		
Jamie Starling		
Melanie Vigo di Gallidoro	For	
Paul West	For	
Steve Wiles	For	
Nathan Wilson	For	

Green, Liberal Democrat and Independent Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Seamus Bennett	For		
Jessie Carter	For		
Annette Dunning	For		
Simon Harley	For		
Richard Kemp	For		
Ruth Leach	For		
Ash Lever	For		
Robert Lindsay			
Inga Lockington	For		
Victor Lukaniuk	For		
Andy Mellen	For		
Penny Otton	For		
Keith Scarff	For		
Andrew Stringer	For		
Caroline Topping	For		
Keith Welham	For		

Labour Group

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Sarah Adams	For		
Rob Bridgeman	For		
Elizabeth Johnson			
Sandy Martin	For		
Lucy Smith			

Ungrouped Councillor

Councillor's Name	For	Against	Abstain
Peter Thompson			